Good beer is hard to find…

out here. Seriously. And the stuff that IS available is insanely expensive. I never quite realized how spoiled I was back in the land of micro-brews (Seattle). Stuff that was considered reasonable out there (RedHook, Sierra Nevada) is over $7 a six-pack here. You could easily get it for under $6 back home and even cheaper if you found it on sale. To spend over $7 on average, everyday beer was unheard of. Here, in order to do that, you have to drink Budweiser or Miller. Anyway, I was stoked to find a 12 pack sampler of RedHook beers…particularly because the seasonal beer that is included in it is their Copper Hook which I know I will never find on it’s own out here. The others are their good old standards: ESB, IPA, and Blonde. (For the record, I used to live about a mile and half down the road from the RedHook brewery in Woodinville…so again, yes, I was spoiled.)

Anyway, I found my beer. I also found two of these on a kickin’ sale:

Since I can’t hang anything on the side of the house (it has vinyl siding) and this was the same price as the plastic reel box I was looking at, I opted for this. They did a crappy job with positioning the spigots on the exterior of my home, they are on each side ofthe house instead of the front and back sides, so my plan is to place one of these at the front corner of the house and just run the hose along the foundation back to where the spigot is. The other will go at the opposite back corner of the house with the same hose running technique. The rest of the hose just coils up inside the bowl.

I also found two incredibly inexpensive resin planters for my front porch. They look like they might be handmade clay type pots. I am going to need to drill better drainage holes in the bottom of each of them, but that should be easy. Then I just need to find some “feet” to set them up on so the water can actually get out of the holes.

I suppose now (after I eat a ridiculously late lunch) I should go start putting soil and plants in some of my pots. Tomorrow I am going to drag Neil out to shop for a couple hostas with me. After which we will come back here and mow the lawn (that is 12″ high again). Won’t he be thrilled? Ha!

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

