The Marly Results

It is a good thing we did this procedure now…we'll start with the good news:

The good news is that the procedure went very well and there weren't any complications. Also, Moo's bloodwork came back and she is in excellent health (aside from the ears).

They did both ears – the right ear also had gunk deep down inside, though nothing as bad as the left ear and the right eardrum looked to be perfectly fine. The doc, wonderful man that he is, saved the right ear gunk to show me…a small wad of hair and gunk that looked kind of like something you might pull out of a shower drain trap.

The left ear is the big problem. There was much cleaning to be done and once it was, he said he couldn't find any evidence of the eardrum still in tact…which means a middle ear infection as well as everything else. The good news there is that apparently the eardrum will regrow itself in three to four weeks…so, as long as the infection hasn't done any permanent damage to the ear, her hearing should be fine.

Marly is now on medicated ear drops twice a day (they are weird, thick, milky drops), prednisone twice a day, and antibiotics twice a day – all for the first week. Then the prednisone tapers off and we add in some ear cleaning. Ultimately the prednisone tapers off but is given for a total of 15 days, the antibiotics are a four week run, and the drops and ear cleaning will go on for at least two weeks and then will be reassessed after a follow-up visit to the doctor. Thankfully, Marly is great about taking her medicine…I can just put the pills in her food bowl with her breakfast and dinner and she eats them right up. The difficult part is getting the drops in the ears. She is very wary of anyone coming near them right now and is difficult to get to hold still on my own. Neil helped me out this morning, but it will be a different deal tonight when it is just me. We'll see how that goes!

Poor Moo was in a lot of pain last night…not to mention still pretty out of it from the anesthesia. She whined ALL night long with some moans and groans thrown in to boot. I finally put her in her crate and closed my bedroom door so I could only sort of hear her agony. She is still very whiny this morning and now we have to see how the prednisone (which causes increased water consumption) effects her bed-wetting issues. Poor gal may end up sleeping in her crate for the next month if that starts acting up again. We will just have to wait and see.

The worst part of all of it is that there really isn't anything I can do for her. I did call the vet office this morning and they said that once the prednisone starts kicking in, it should alleviate some of that pain fairly quickly. I hope so, I hate feeling so helpless…and I feel like such a bad doggy mommy for letting that ear get like that (though, then I remind myself that we have been to the vet more than once over it as well).

OH! And did I mention I also got pictures of the inside of each ear? Yeah, before and after shots. Let's just say after looking at them I didn't have much of an appetite last night.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “The Marly Results

  1. Yes, I really, really like Dr Carroll. You can tell he LOVES dogs (he has several of his own) and that he also really takes his time to listen to what I have to say about symptoms and behaviors and then also takes his time in dealing with Marly (and Sadie – he did her knee surgeries…both of them). The other vets in this office are great folks, but several of them are very new to practicing and I think they just don't have the past experience to really know the quirky things to look for or recognize. Now that I have seen several of them in action, I will be trying to schedule all my doggy visits with him. And then the cats I try to get with Dr Crawford who is the awesomest cat lady ever! (She was the rescuer of Bonnie & Clyde, but adopted them out because she tries to only keep the 'problem' kitties – kitties with medical and/or physical handicaps.)
    Marly does seem to be doing better as the morning moves on…sleeping lots, but so far no wetting problems. YAY!

Leave a Reply

