Five Words Meme – Photography

Only two more to go!! 

This one is a fun one…I grew up around photography. My dad loved it and was always taking pictures (my mom has about 30 photo albums full to prove it! LOL) – he even built himself a small dark room when I was a kid. I remember my first camera was a 110mm tiny little point and shoot thing. I want to say it was a kit/build-your-own sort of thing, though I am not sure if my memory is serving me right. It would be fitting though, since almost everything we had or did as kids started out as something to build (airplanes, trains, dollhouses, etc.).
When I was in 7th grade I took a photography class where we learned to develop black and white film and such. I think I must have borrowed my dad's camera for the class, because at that point, I don't remember having one of my own. I am not sure what happened after that…right around that time is when I seemed to have stopped taking pictures. I mean, not completely, I have handfuls here and there of events and such, but then nothing for a long time. And as I think back, most of the photos I have from that era were taken by other folks.
Neil is the reason I got back into photography. (He takes wonderful photos… particularly portrait types.) I got myself a digital camera and started shooting again…most of my subjects were whatever was convenient – fish, Sadie, birds at the feeder outside. Hmmm that sounds pretty much like what I still do! I finally splurged and got my DSLR…which, even as little as I've picked it up lately, was one of the best investments I've made.
I needed something to do…and photography was already something I liked, I could do it with Neil, or I could do it on my own. I am not a social person by nature; in fact, I am a downright hermit unless forced. The camera has given me a shield to hide behind when I am out and about. I am not sure I am any more social than before, but I am more likely to get out once in a while. And I am proud of a lot of my work – it seems I have finally found something that I have a little natural talent for (that I can do on a regular basis – I was very good at playing the flute, but it isn't exactly an easy pastime to keep up with). Granted, I have a lot to learn and a long way to go, but I find more and more these days that I don't end up needing much post-processing…and that ultimately is my goal. I mean anyone can learn to use Photoshop…I want to learn to take a good photo. I will admit that all of my photos are taken in color, so any black and whites or sepia toned ones have been processed, but I find with digital, they come out better that way rather than using the settings on the camera. 
The other great thing with photography is that (though it can be) it doesn't have to be an expensive hobby. More just one-time costs with the digital world and then you can shoot to your heart's desire. Don't get me wrong, I am currently lusting after the Canon 24-105mm f/4 L IS. I made the mistake awhile back of finding a great deal on a wide angle L series lens…and then I learned how much of a difference they make in color, sharpness, and general clarity of the pictures. Right now I use the 28-135mm IS…this one will eventually replace it as my all purpose lens. Someday. Heh. Even Neil had not really played with the L lenses until the wide angle. He now sports the nice big 100-400mm! (It is fantastic for bird shots!) LOL So now, instead of a normal girly obsession like say shoes, I lust after glass. 
I share almost all my photos on Flickr, which I love as a hosting website. (I hope they don't fall part now that they are owned by Yahoo…but I guess time will tell.) It is handy since my family is all the way across the country and my friends are spread all over it. Hopefully the curious will see some things they like there, that they find pretty, or intriguing, or silly…I figure, if I have in some way captured the attention of someone with one of my images, then I have been successful.
Last up:
~ marriage 

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “Five Words Meme – Photography

  1. Saving the best word for last, huh? 😉 I've enjoyed reading your responses and have liked that they've been more detailed. I love looking at other people's photos. I think it helps me get ideas for shots of my own. And I've certainly enjoyed looking at yours. Of course they always make me want a DSLR even more.

  2. Thanks for the compliment. I'm a big believer that you don't need a fancy camera to take good pictures or have an eye for photography. As I learn more I feel like I keep needing to step up as far as the equipment I'm using. At some point I'm going to feel like I've outgrown the point and shoots (moreso than now) and be "forced" to get a DSLR. I also forgot to mention that I'm also not one do to post processing. Maybe it's more of my like of natural photography but I like seeing photos that haven't been messed with in any way (or at least very little).

Leave a Reply

