Random Ramblings

It is another gorgeous, sunny yet cold winter day here. However, I noticed this morning that there is a winter storm watch for my county…apparently they are expecting snow storms to come through tomorrow. Crazy! Usually we don’t get our frozen precipitation until much later in the winter. Guess I should go look for my boots just in case.

Work is still work.

Moo stayed with Neil this week while I was gone and was mostly a good girl! At Neil’s she has to sleep in her crate because his house is not Moo-proofed…so there she usually really freaks out in the middle of the night. Our solution was to move her crate to the garage (it is a finished, insulated garage…plenty warm and protected for her). This seems to have worked. He told me she barked a little right at first, but then settled down and he didn’t hear her all night. And there were no accidents in the morning. She did get into the food bag and chew up one of her zip lock bags that I pack her food in. Luckily, there was no food in it.

For whatever reason, she still gets up in the middle of the night to go outside. I’ve been trying to work with her on this by giving her a really long potty walk before bed and then insisting on her going to lay back down when she does wake me up/ignoring her when she is just being whiny. My concern is that the couple times that she has listened and has gone to lay back fown, she has also gotten sick. I am not sure what is up with that – maybe she has an upset tummy from her antibiotics (it has only happened after her surgery)? And I know if she REALLY has to go, she lets me know by grunting and getting up on the bed if she has to to get me up…so now I don’t really know what to do. Some nights she hasn’t woken me up and there have been no problems.  Last night I don’t know if she tried (I never heard her), but this morning there were three barf spots in the living room. *sigh* Thankfully, I haven’t cleaned the carpets yet. That is on the agenda for Saturday. I guess I will just keep trying to get her to sleep through the night and will continue to clean up barf as needed.

Bonnie’s new trick is to sneak out the front door when it is opened and then dash around the house to come in the back door. I am guessing she wants to go outside, but also doesn’t really want to be left out. LOL However, I am learning that if you chase her then she keeps going and doesn’t come back in for awhile. Bad kitty.

Moo’s knee is healing really well…at least the incision is! And she seems to be feeling pretty chipper, so that makes me happy. Sadie is her usual playful, happy self too.

Now I am going to go see about some lunch…

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Random Ramblings

  1. Poor Moo! The antibiotics could be messing with her system. Hopefully she'll be better once she has stopped taking them. I hope that you're able to have fun on your trip next week. Maybe once you're there and are *forced* to have fun it'll be better. 😉

  2. Yeah – I am thinking they are the reason for the barfing. The midnight potty thing I think might be related to her incontinence issues she had when she was younger…but, she seems to be getting better about going back to bed and holding it if she doesn't REALLY have to go, so who knows. She is probably just a spoiled brat who is used to getting her way no matter what the hour. 😉
    Thanks! I think I will have fun…I just don't want to deal with getting there and back. LOL I would be totally OK if someone would just invent instant transporting devices.

  3. I have a similar problem with Teulu on occasion. SOmetimes he justs decides he wants to go out at say 2-3 am. I usually just ignore him since I am getting up at 4 anyway. But today he definitely gave the whine signal, went out and went like crazy…

  4. Ohhh poo! Yeah, it is hard to tell sometimes if they are actually "done". I discovered that Nature's Miracle makes carpet cleaner now…it works quite well.
    And yeah, you could set a clock by Moo – 2:45am on the dot there for awhile. Though, recently it seems to be better.

Leave a Reply

