Wow…2009 is almost gone.

Already? Time is really flying by these days.

2009 wasn’t a bad year, all in all. I mean, aside from all the political insanity and economic melt-down that has been taking place nationally. I still managed to get a promotion and a fairly hefty raise mid-year. The animals have all been healthy (with the exception of Moo’s knee, but that was physical accident rather than a true health related issue). This darn cold is the first time I have been down and out sick this year, so that is something I guess. Neil is still around and puts up with me, which is nice. Heh. Sometimes I wonder where his well of patience comes from…I’d like to share in some of that, but it just really isn’t in my nature. I suppose in a lot of ways we balance each other out.
I became an aunt in 2009! That is probably the highlight of my year. And will continue to be for many years to come!
I have no big plans for 2010. A couple trips home will hopefully take place (to see aforementioned cute nephew and the rest of the fam). My mom will probably be coming out to visit in the Spring sometime. Other than that, hopefully things will remain fairly status quo. The animals will continue to provide me with daily entertainment and joy. The boyfriend will continue to love me and tolerate my insanity.
2010 Goals –
  • 365 Photos – I am going to attempt this (beginning tomorrow). However, I reserve the right to amend this into a photo a week (52 photos) depending on how things go.
  • Cooking – I need to cook more meals. I haven’t quite decided what kind of measurable parameters to put around it yet, though. I think for sure at least one meal a weekend and one weeknight meal. That should be doable regardless of my work schedule. I hope. I think I will start by attempting a beef stew this weekend.
I think really, that is all. I mean there are other things I hope to accomplish this year, but they aren’t things that I want to put in writing or feel guilty about if they don’t happen. And as always, I have a to-do list a million miles long of projects that can be worked on around the yard and house. Heck, maybe I will finally get my kitchen painted this year. LOL
Needless to say, it is going to feel like I JUST wrote this when I start writing a new one for 2011…so I guess my last goal for 2010 is to make the most of the fleeting moments. I am sure they will seem to be gone even faster than this year’s.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

2 thoughts on “Wow…2009 is almost gone.

  1. Yay for 2010! I like your goals. I think they're reasonable. And I'm glad that you had a good 2009 overall too. The years do seem to be ticking away faster these days.

  2. Thanks! I feel like I should have gone for something loftier like – try to be a better person, or some such thing. But I try to do that anyway and it seems trite to make it a goal or resolution. Of course, I would love to throw "lose 30 pounds (or more)" in there, but that is one I am bound to fail miserably at yet again, so I finally got smart and refrained. LOL Not that I won't still think about it and try to along the way.
    It's funny, I don't actually expect much from the coming year. I think it will mostly be a year of setting my roots a little more firmly where I've planted myself (I really love it here), continuing to chip away at my debt (which IS shrinking!), and just enjoying what I have with the ones around me that I love. Oh, and maybe planting a garden. 😉

Leave a Reply

