Project 365/1: Cookbooks

Day one, photo one. I chose to shoot my some of my cookbooks to document one of my resolutions for this year – to cook more meals at home. I have plenty of books to choose from, I just need to start using them! (Note: There are two more full shelves of them not shown in the photo.)

I am still having issues with the autofocus on my camera. I think it may have to do with the sensor – when I push halfway down on the shutter the entire image shifts in the viewfinder. I am not sure that is supposed to happen. Of course, it could also be that the lighting was not great, but the camera indicated to me that it was focused, so I just really don't know. Tomorrow my plan is to play with it in better lighting and see if I can figure out what's going on. Since I know I have an issue with camera shake (especially with this cold), I even used a tripod for this photo, so in this particular instance, I am sure that isn't the problem.
As a side note: The Scandinavian Cookbook (upper shelf, far left) is a gorgeous book and along with some wonderful fish recipes in it, it has beautiful photography in it. It would act nicely as a general coffee table book and would make a good gift for someone who likes to cook.

Read and post comments |
Send to a friend

4 thoughts on “Project 365/1: Cookbooks

  1. Do you ever read the Pioneer Woman's blog(s)? She put out a cookbook this fall that's pretty cool. We gave it to my ILs and my dad for Christmas. It's the kind that would also make a good coffee table book. I'll have to take a look at the Scandinavian one.

Leave a Reply

