Ask and ye shall receive…

Pasta Bolognese, green beans sautéed in olive oil and sea salt, and garlic bread. I was in a bit of a mood and decided that is exactly what I would make.

I did some poking around online and made a Bolognese concoction based on a few recipes I read.

365/42: Bolognese

All the recipes called for celery, which I didn’t have. Some called for tomatoes, some did not. I like tomatoes so I added a can in lieu of the water. Some called for heavy cream, some for whole milk…I had half and half. (You getting the idea?) Also, some called for dry white wine and others called for dry red. Since it was a meat sauce and I don’t particularly care for wine – I opted for a red. I ended up with a zinfandel by Ravens Wood was pretty tasty (even for a gal who isn’t into reds).

Bolognese_2

Carrot, onion, and garlic diced well (sautéed first in some butter and olive oil). Add a pound of ground beef (traditional recipes called for veal, but I don’t eat veal), a pound of ground pork, 1/4 pound of bacon (pancetta would be better and next time I would brown it first before adding it with the other meats) and cook until no pink left in any of the meat. Then, a teaspoon of fresh thyme, a can of diced tomatoes, a can of tomato paste, and one cup each of a dry wine and half and half. Simmer for hours until very thick and more meaty than saucy…

When you’re about ready to eat, boil up some pasta (I used penne).

Just before serving I made some garlic bread and sautéed some green beans – I used butter and olive oil (everything tastes better with butter):

Bolognese_3

And viola! A home-cooked meal made by yours truly.

Leave a Reply

