Oh deer!

The other morning, I felt like I was playing children’s games with Mother Nature while I was shooting some photos.

Peek-a-Boo!
365/60: Peek-a-Boo!

~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~

Duck…
Curious?

…duck…duck…
Stomping out the warning...

…duck…duck…duck…
Alert!

GOOSE!!!
Run away! Run away!

~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~ ~~~

I really believe that deer are the “kids” of the wild…about a week ago there were two chasing each other through the trees around the creek down past the clearing. There was still snow on the ground so I could actually see them which was fun. Usually all I see are the trees and I hear them crashing through the dry leaves. It amazes me how fast these guys disappear once they pass the tree line out back. I can still hear that they are close, but unless they flick their white tails, I can’t find them at all! Mother Nature definitely knows what she is doing in the protective coloring department around here.

2 thoughts on “Oh deer!

  1. You know that I totally think that deer are ‘kids of the wild’. And it is amazing how quickly they can disappear and blend in with their surroundings. Now that spring is approaching I’m looking forward to seeing more wild kids.

    • I love the babies with their spots!

      Right now I am trying to figure out how to get rid of a mean mockingbird. She (he?) has staked out the bird-feeders as part of its territory and won’t let any of the other birds anywhere near them. I am hoping it is just nesting season and soon she or he will ease up. Otherwise I am going to have to move the feeders which is not at all conducive to my landscaping plan.

Leave a Reply

