Container Gardening

Procrastination is the bane of my existence. I waited, and waited, and talked about, and proposed, and thought about building raised garden beds this year. Alas, I never actually got around to doing the building part of all that. The result is another year of container gardening on my patio.

Love these pots!

It is a little late to be getting things out around here, but it should all still be ok. Various herbs and veggies got planted:
Patio Tomato
A tomato plant, of course! The Patio Tomato (yes, it is actually called that) should stay compact and bushy with 2″ fruit. I hoping the fruit actually tastes good too.

And who can live without basil?
Sweet Basil

Aside from a standard red bell pepper and a banana pepper plant, I am also trying a poblano pepper this year. It already has baby fruit on it, so hopefully it will be a prolific producer!
Poblano Pepper

Some plants are specifically for Neil – for instance the Thai pepper. Those tiny, red, burn-the-skin-right-off-your-mouth hot peppers in Asian food? Yeah…that’s these (or something similar). I also planted some mint for his mojitos. And we will jointly try the Thai basil. Another favorite of mine, but I’ve never actually cooked with it at home. I also planted some Greek oregano and French tarragon to play around with since I use both extensively when I cook.

The biggest experiment of all, though, is the Kieffer lime tree!
Kieffer Lime/Kaffir Lime
It is a tender perennial here, so it will be brought indoors to winter over. Right now it is just a tiny little thing and as it grows I will need to replant it in larger pots. However, everything I have read and been told is that it makes for a wonderful container plant. I hope it fruits, but mostly I just want the leaves from it for cooking.

Grow little plants, grow!

Leave a Reply

