Downy Woodpecker Parenting

Excitement ensued the other day when I noticed that a downy woodpecker had come back to grace my feeders. (Ask Neil, I made him come look!)
Momma Downy

So imagine how over the top I went when I saw the male and a baby out there!!
Parenthood

Daddy was definitely showing Junior where to find the food and how to get it. Of course, it didn’t stop him from still also hand (beak?) feeding the kid. I swear – bird kids are more spoiled than most people kids these days.

Eventually Daddy flew off, but Junior hung around to try some eating on his own (after I refilled the suet). He was a bit wobbly at first, but eventually he got the hang of it –
Baby 'pecker

At least it seems there is hope that this little one will fledge and be a productive member of the adult woodpecker society…don’t get me started on the whiny, needy Mockingbird kids. They’ll be living with mom and dad until they have kids of their own at the rate things sound like they are going out there!

Leave a Reply

