Soreness

I am having problems with sore, tight muscles in my upper back and neck. Not from the running, though. Things have been this way for a while. Probably from stress and the darn cat sleeping on me every night. He seems to go from ten pounds to about thirty when he is sleeping.

Does anyone have any suggestions for good stretches for that area? Or suggestions on removing a stubborn sleeping companion? (Aside from shutting the bedroom door…all the critters around here will make a serious fuss and I do enjoy my sleep.)

Today also started with swollen eye-lids on my right eye…I’d like to hope that it is just aggravated allergies, but I think it is some sort of bite. I shudder to think what might have been on my face last night! Eew! Mostly it hurts a lot.

Later in the day I shall run – C25K week one day two here I come!

2 thoughts on “Soreness

  1. I know this is a bit late, but I just discovered your blog.

    Look into getting a new pillow. I know when mine starts to go flat I tend to have more problems with my back and neck. I’m also more prone to headaches.

    We also do different ergonomic exercises at work to help with upper back/neck issues:
    -Shoulder rolls (forward and back) are nice.
    -Shrugs too.
    -Look over each shoulder.
    -Bring your ear to each shoulder.
    -Bring both arms behind your back. Hold the wrist of your right arm with your left hand. Bring your ear to your left shoulder. Repeat for the opposite side.

    • Thanks for the great suggestions! I probably do need new pillows (and to stretch more). The stretching exercises are on my priorities for November. We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

