C25K – Week 4, Day 1

Holy moly – that was awesome! It was hot and sweaty and hard, but still awesome!

I definitely ‘felt’ my legs at times, but nothing really hurt. I had a lot of energy (especially in the second half of the session) which I chalk up to a really good dinner last night and some cereal this morning. I sweated like a pig but didn’t feel overheated. Mostly I just felt like I was on top of the world. Though I admit, as I was powering through the last minute of the final five-minute run, I realized that I can totally see myself running 5K and 10K races, but I am not entirely sure I can see myself running a half-marathon. In my head it translates into this: Running for an hour? Yes! Running for 3+ hours? No!

The best part is that I am not at all discouraged by these thoughts. I will run/walk the half in March because I’ve committed to doing that. After, I will focus on the shorter races.

Equipment check-in:

  • Socks – Love my new socks! Bought some Champion DuoDry socks at Target when I was there picking up a new scale. They come in extended sizes (women’s shoe size 8-12) which means they fit my giant feet well. Most socks, especially sports socks, are way too small and tight and cramp my toes.
  • Shoes – I think I love my shoes. I don’t really know any better, so I don’t have anything to compare them to, but they are working out well. There are so many brands and options out there, I figure once I am in better shape and am running some longer distances without dying, then I will go back to a specialty store and get refitted. My reasoning being that once I am in better shape my form will probably change.
  • Bras – anything is better than what I had started out with.
  • Shirts – I need more t-shirts.
  • Food – still need to work on eating better (see next post)
2 thoughts on “C25K – Week 4, Day 1

  1. I think you will be surprised that you finish that half marathon in a bit less than 3 hours. things are going well!!!!

    As far as the shoes, people get so crazy about them. If you have a pair/style that works for you…why change?

    You are going to enjoy the Half in march. I swear it. OMG we need to register.

    • LOL We’ll see about that (the under 3 hours thing). But I do think it will be fun…especially with you ladies! And yes. I need to go pull up their site and register this weekend before I forget! I have some other random questions to ask about the race, but I will email those to you.

Leave a Reply

