Protein…and two miles, baby!!!

I’m not getting enough. I think that is why my legs feel so dead lately. Today I did really well with day two of week six, but I had to push myself to keep my legs moving. They don’t hurt, they are just tired. So, lots of fish planned over the next couple days. I never got around to cooking my halibut last night, instead I ate black bean salsa with some tortillas and drank a beer. Not exactly nutritious. Hopefully the added focus on eating some good, clean protein helps – Sunday is a 25 minute run! Eep!

I know I can do it. I just need to fight off the boredom. I think I will try distracting myself by watching a TV show during the run. (It has dawned on me that I don’t need a podcast for a straight run, I am a capable woman who can use a timer. I’m just so used to going upstairs and turning on the cast before getting on the ‘mill.) I also hope that by Sunday most of the smell from the clean-up upstairs will be gone. It really makes it hard to breathe up there – the odor gives me a headache.

Sunday is also weigh-in day. That part is really getting discouraging – I hope I see a little change there. I am going to add serious dog walks (as opposed to the meandering ones we take while they go out to do their business) on my off days along with some strength stuff (push-ups, sit-ups, etc.) to try to help that part of things along. I also got a new tape measure so Sunday will finally include some measurements. I am not expecting much change there either. There hasn’t been any noticeable change to the fit of my clothing, but then again, who knows.

On to the fun stuff – today I hit two miles in my work-out!!! My pace is improving. A friend pointed out to me on Daily Mile that I should look back once in a while to see how far I have come. Just a few weeks ago I was struggling to run more than a minute at a time; last week I ran 20 minutes. And today, two miles! Someday soon I will be running over three miles non-stop. I feel so much better about myself than I did when I started. I have more energy (usually…today I just want to sit like a lump on the couch, but I think that is work wear-out and it is also “that time of the month”). I am having more fun play-time with the dogs (which they are loving). Overall, life is good. Now I just don’t want to be fat anymore.

Last – I want to thank the newcomers who have commented recently on my blog. It may sound strange to say this out loud (write it out loud?), but it is incredibly motivating to know there are others out there in the same boat I am, even if I have no idea who you are in person. We can do this!

6 thoughts on “Protein…and two miles, baby!!!

  1. Great idea for the tape-measure! I need to try that. I always worry too much about the number on the scale and forget that I’m probably losing some inches too. That could be just as much of a motivation! I’m wearing a pair of jeans today that I couldn’t button during the summer. It isn’t very pretty but they are wearable. Hah!

    Good job kicking W6D2’s behind! You are doing awesome! I’m sure you’ll rock that 25 minute run too! Good luck at your weigh-in!

  2. It’s great that you can look back and see progress. Just wait until doing a 5k is like nothing. 🙂

    And you’re still entitled to a lazy day and even junk food here and there. It’s about moderation and it being a treat and not the norm. I think that denying yourself of everything “bad” can lead to resentment in doing your workouts and whatnot. 🙂

    • I think that is why I am getting frustrated with my weight not dropping – I rarely eat junk food any more, I just don’t eat balanced meals. For instance, yesterday I drank an entire pot of coffee (over the course of most of the day) with cream, three bowls of cereal between breakfast and lunch, and then snarfed 6 small flour tortillas with salsa and fat free sour cream with a beer. I think I also had a glass of grapefruit juice and two bottles of water (I use a refillable bottle for my water). So really, no veggies, no protein, and WAY too heavy on the carbs. But none of it was “bad” and all of it is low fat. Heh. Sometimes I wish I ate more junk food because that would be easier to deal with cutting it out!

      But yeah, I am all for lazy days…especially on the weekends. 😉

  3. you know, when you are walking the dog you can use your Garmin. I do that to make sure Teulu actually gets a walk. I have a habit of thinking “Oh ok, he pooped, time to go sit on the couch again!” I love my couch.

    As far as the scale… well, I have been losing and gaining the same 1-3 pounds for the past now, 2 months. Very demotivating. It looks better today…but we will see when I do the official weigh in in the morning. (I really should just weigh once a week or so like sensible people. So far today I have been on the scale, errr 3 times. One of these days you will find that there is a difference…it just seems to take forever. 😦

    I keep those baby carrots in the door of the fridge and each time I open it, I tend to munch one or two….it helps.

Leave a Reply

