Animal Quanadries

CATS

This morning I am cleaning up more cat pee. This time, though, it is a small amount…DG keeps peeing on the dog bed. when she was in for her last kitten series check-up I had them also check to see if she had a UTI. Nope. No problems there (which is good, don’t get me wrong). So what to do about the inappropriate peeing?

I think I’ve figured out the problem – the dog beds have cedar chips in them to help repel bugs and doggy odors…the new cat litter I bought is natural “green” stuff that smells like…cedar. I think pine is what the bag actually says, but it smells like outdoor evergreens. And thus, the itty bitty kitty thinks she has a litter box all her own in my bedroom.

Thankfully the covers are water repellant so the pillow is (so far) unscathed. And I have an extra cover from an old bed, so I’ve rotated them through the wash. But I don’t know what to do to deter her from wetting the dog bed. Sadie sleeps there (when it is dry) so I don’t want to take it away. I may have to see if I can find some beds without the chips in them…but I’d rather not. These beds are very, very nice – and very, very inexpensive at Costco ($20 for a large dog bed, everywhere else they run closer to $40 or $50).

Any suggestions?

DOGS

It really isn’t a quandary with the dog…more general frustration. Moo enrolled in Off Leash Dog Training last June. And while overall it has been hugely beneficial to her outside the home, it hasn’t changed any of her behavior in the home when I am not there to monitor it. She still shreds toilet paper, steals things off desks and counters, and in general isn’t trusted loose in the house. That isn’t such a huge deal – she can go in her crate, I just wish she didn’t have to.

The frustrating thing is that most of the group sessions which are held at various parks in the area, end up getting cancelled or changed to days/times when we cannot attend. The most recent example of this was the Sunday group class last week – couldn’t find them due to lack of directions on where the actual meet was. This week I finally got specific instructions but they’ve changed it (last night, mind you) from a lesson to a group hike. And while that would be fun, a) it isn’t what I signed up for and b) we kind of overdid it playing ball in the yard this week and her knee isn’t up for a hike, however, we really could have used the lesson since we couldn’t make the one on Saturday.

I like the people who do the training (though, the girl, whom I was least impressed with, but worked the most with is no longer there). The guy who owns the business is fabulous with both people and dogs. The problem there is he is trying to grow and expand and isn’t getting the base business well enough established first. Everything is very fly-by-night. Not that the business will suddenly not be there, but that nothing is well-organized or communicated to the customers. Right now the business is down to the owner and one trainer to hold all the group and individual sessions. The owner has also gotten himself a segment on the local morning news show. He is trying to organize attending home shows, seminars, and other community events and fundraisers. And unless your dog has serious aggression issues, I feel it is nearly impossible to grab anyone’s attention long enough to ask questions or get specific help at any of the group classes.

I think next week I am going to try to get Moo scheduled for a one-on-one session at their facility so we can get the needed face time. I don’t have serious problems and the questions I have I am sure are easy fixes, I just need someone to show me how to work on them. And I am going to ask about having a one-on-one session here at the house. I need help with the dogs at the door. I am sure getting it scheduled is going to be a pain due to the lack of man-power, but I am going to keep trying until it happens.

*whew* Thanks for letting me vent…this stuff (especially the dog training stuff) has swirled around in my head now for a while. I paid a very pretty penny for the training and though Moo’s progress has been good, right now I would not recommend this particular company it to anyone because the program it isn’t worth what I paid. The other part of me sees the potential in this program and if I had the time, would love to offer my services (for a price) to help with the office/organizational part of things to help get them to where they should and could be. But that isn’t going to happen in this life time.

P.S. I suppose I should also add that my training frustrations aren’t just with the training program…I am also frustrated that things have worked out such that I seem to be the only one involved in Moo’s training. The whole point of the training was to get her to a place where she could stay at Neil’s house without totally disrupting his household to save me money on kennel costs when I travel, but that hasn’t happened. So not only have I shelled out for the training, but I am still shelling out for the kennel. *sigh*

2 thoughts on “Animal Quanadries

  1. I bet you have already tried this, but maybe not?

    Moo sounds bored at home, so she needs 2 things, probably more exercise…(blech I know) and also maybe some toys that are way more fun than whatever is on the counter.

    Like the kongs killed with treats and peanut butter…and such….

    but I have to admit, Teulu lived in that crate for a very long time. he’s fine now, and I am not sure why I suspect it is age, plus he never was thank goodness a big toilet paper freak.

    I do still recommend the training place I banished Teulu to…but they were not perfect either. He came back very very obedient, he sits, stays lays, comes, but even they said they could not get him to completely stop jumping on people, which remains a problem…when people talk to him in that little squinchy voice that people use….he just gets beside himself….
    frustrates me no end…..

    • Hehe! Yeah, I think her biggest problem here us that she’s spoiled and somewhat co-dependent. When I travel she’s at the kennel/ day care where she is around other dogs and people all day long. And when I’m home we go to the park, play fetch and chase in the yard, etc. Mostly I think she us rebelling at being left behind when I leave her at home.

      I’m going to give this trainer a few more weeks before I decide whether to try somewhere else. We met the new trainer that they hired today and I was quite impressed with him. To morrow is a training hike. I’m taking my Garmin to track it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

