Graduation & Registration

Sort of a belated fall school theme here…

Graduation:

I am unceremoniously graduating myself from C25K. Of course, this means I should be out running in a 5k soon, but that is still a couple of weeks away, I think. I know that if I pace myself, I will be able to run 30 minutes continuously, so today I changed things up and went for distance (along with a little speed).

The latter part of this week was an odd one and time got away from me. My last run was on the 10th, and then we had the Veteran’s Day holiday and I took PTO on Friday and Saturday…I don’t know what happened there. I think, though, that I am coming to understand that if I don’t run before noon-ish, it probably isn’t happening that day. Of course, I know there will be exceptions to that, but generally that seems to be the theme.

Today I ran for 2 miles – most of it was at 4.5mph. The last half mile I decided to push it and bumped it up to 4.7mph. And then when I hit 1.9 miles I just wanted to be done so I jumped it up to 5mph. Breathing was a struggle. I don’t really know what the deal with that is. Allergies, I think. At least I hope so. It was like I couldn’t get a full breath. Some days are better than others, so for now it is the only assumption I can make.

Tomorrow I am aiming for 2.5 miles. I know I should probably have a rest day, but my work travel this week doesn’t allow for it. I probably won’t be pushing the speed like today, but then again, you never know!

I don’t like my new shorts for running. Mostly I am just still too big for them – the shorter shorts ride up between my legs and chafe. I was hoping these were long enough to not do so…they are longer than the “short” shorts I own. I wish I could find more of the basketball/knee-length shorts I got at Target a while back. They are awesome. I do, however, love, love love love loooooove the new light-weight tech T’s I picked up in the men’s department. Though not flattering, they are super-duper comfy – even when I am sweating like a pig.

Registration:

Yesterday I registered for the Seaside School Half Marathon. I will be running/walking it in March with my new friends, Holly and Wendy. I also booked my hotel – Neil will be coming with me to cheer me on – so there is no turning back now. I am excited and nervous and a little bit down-right scared.

I still need to find a 5k to run in soon. I’ll be scrounging around online later today to find that.

Workout Change-up:

In my previous entry I talked about an increased focus on careful eating. This week I am also changing up the work-out routine. On my non-running days I will be adding strength-training. Nothing dramatic, probably sit-ups, push-ups, and some leg and arm exercises. Whenever possible I will also add some walks. Hopefully all this will help aid with the weight-loss since something has to get that going.

4 thoughts on “Graduation & Registration

  1. I have a lot of shorts issues, the only thing I wear now is those boooring black shorts that are like biker shorts without the padded butt. I doubt they flatter me, but well, they keep me from chafing and they do not ride up or bunch up in the middle. Maybe someday I can wear the cute multicolored running shorts….

    I’m excited and scared too!

  2. Congrats on your graduation! I hope you’re able to find a local 5k so you can get your first race experience.

    And look at you progress! Even though the pounds aren’t coming off it sounds like you’re at least feeling better. And you’re still seeing progress with your running. 🙂

    • Thanks, Amanda! And you’re right – I feel a billion times better. Everyday activities no longer feel like such dreaded chores. I have much mire energy and ive been sleeping better more nights too.

      I completely spaced on looking for a 5k today. I’ll definitely do that tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

