Thanksgiving

The past few weeks have been rough. And the coming weeks are bound to get rougher before they get better…unfortunately, it is just going to take time to work through some things and I am hoping that the boyfriend part of the equation has the patience and endurance to put up with me through all of it.

However, another friend of mine posted a great entry about the things she was thankful for, and with that, I’d like to do the same:

  • I am grateful for my health. I am grateful that I do not have any debilitating diseases or illnesses. I am grateful that I am healthy enough to work on improving my physical fitness and am able to run. And my heart goes out to my family and friends who are struggling with life-threatening problems (namely several fighting cancer).
  • I am grateful for my family and friends. I miss my sister terribly, but am so lucky that modern technology allows me to call her or text her or email her whenever I like. I can’t imagine being separated from her and not being able to communicate with her readily. I also miss my nephew! He is the cutest little boy ever. Period. And I miss the rest of the family too. I am also grateful for my friends. They are very few and far between. I am terrible at keeping in contact with people, but there are a special few that can deal with that and when we do get in touch it is like no time has passed. I hope they all know I love them and do think about them often, even if I don’t communicate that well. (This also includes you, my online friends!)
  • I am grateful for my life. I have a good job (even if it gets the better of me more often than not these days). I am able to own a home and a car and am able to care for myself and my animals. I have snuggly critters who (I hope) love me. They act like they do anyway, though maybe that is just because I am The Keeper of Food. Whatever the case, I will take it. (Though, if they are reading this…kids, I could do without whomever is peeing on all the dog blankets every day. Kay? Thanks.) I have a boyfriend who loves me and whom I love. I am well-educated thanks to my parents and am able to use what I know and learn new things daily.

As my friend also mentioned, there are a million little things I am thankful for as well…like whomever invented the enzyme cleaner I use around the house. That stuff is magic! And cheese. I love cheese. But those are really aren’t worth mentioning in the big scheme of things.

So, I hope everyone reading this has a wonderful Thanksgiving tomorrow (assuming you are here in the United States), and even if you aren’t, I hope you’ll still take a minute to remind yourself of all the good things in life, even when things are tough.

5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving

  1. Great post! It’s important to remember the things in life that you’re thankful for – big and small. Sometimes the hustle and bustle of life (and dealing with the crappy things) makes us forget.

    I hope you have a great Thanksgiving!!

  2. AMC, I am so thankful to have the opportunity to read this blog and through it to keep in touch with you and Neil in a way never before possible. Please remember you have a loving Aunt in Texas (who is almost as bad at regular communication as you are) but who always keeps you in her heart. 😉 Thanks for sharing your list and know you’re definitely on ours. xoxoxo CC

  3. OMG, I LOVE Cheese!!!!
    I’m so glad I have friends via the net!
    Life is interesting isn’t it. When we were kids I think we would have never been thankful for cheese or enzymatic cleaners….but they are so important!

Leave a Reply

