Some of my favorite things…

I am not a girly girl, but I do love my product. Make-up, skin care, bath stuff. You name it, I love it. I rarely wear make-up or fix my hair unless it is for work or we are going out somewhere special. Though, you’d never know it to look in my bathroom. So with that, here are some of my favorites by brand:

  • Philosophy – in particular, I am fond of their skin-care line. I regularly use purity made simple, hope in a jar, and eye hope. I also love kiss me…especially excellent during our dry winters. Give me any of their citrus-scented lotions. And soul owner is like magic on my feet. Their make-up line is also nice – I use the supernatural airbrushed canvas in natural. On occasion I also use their supernatural mascara and blush, but they aren’t my regulars. Really, you can’t go wrong with any of their products. I admit, some of their scents are not my thing, but I do LOVE the fruit scents.
  • M.A.C. –  Oh how do I love thee, let me count the ways. MAC is my staple cosmetic brand. Mineralize satinfinish foundation is my mainstay when I do put on make-up (some days it is all I use). And then any combination of their blushes, eye shadows, powders, eye-liners…you name it, I probably own or have owned it at one point or another.
  • Rusk – my neighbor is also my hair-dresser. He has turned me onto Rusk products. I am not particularly fond of the low-end line of products, but I do love their Sensories Wellness shampoo and conditioner in both Bedew and Reflect. (The Restore scent is very musky…not my thing. The other two are citrusy.) I also am a huge fan of Blow Foam.
  • Village Naturals Therapy – bath salts and lotion…this is a new one for me, but it is love at first sight! Or scent, maybe. The amusing thing to me is that these products are made by the company that makes Mr. Bubbles. Heh. I ordered bath salts and some lotion from Amazon – the lotion is called “Muscle Relief“…smells like wintergreen and feels fabulous on my legs after running. I ordered the salts in “Cold & Allergy”, “Aches & Pains”, and “Stress & Tension”. Mostly I wasn’t sure what scents I would really like, but I love them all. The Aches & Pains one is almost too camphor-y smelling and yet I still really like it. Mostly just a warning for others who aren’t as fond of the scent. The Stress & Tension is also a little camphor-y, but less so. I did not order the lavender-scented one, so I have no idea how grandma flowery it is. I love lavender scent when it is a true lavender, but the flowery fake scent gives me a headache. There are a ton of good reviews, though, for it.

So there you have it. A very complete tour of my bathroom and the products contained therein.

2 thoughts on “Some of my favorite things…

  1. I have got to go find some muscle relief…as soon as I can walk again!!!

    I’ve been buying Dr Teals epsom salt scented bath. 5.00 for a ton of epsom salt and it does smell wonderfully relaxing in the steam…
    Lavender always reminds me of grandma too~

    • Awesome job on your run today! The salt bath felt SO good after my measly run…and I am in love with this lotion. Thankfully the scent dissipates quickly once the lotion is rubbed in so I don’t have minty-fresh shins, but it does have long lasthing cooling effect. It also leaves my skin feeling so smooth. According to their website, you can buy this stuff retail at Walmart.

      I might have to check out what Dr Teal has too!

Leave a Reply

