Family. Crazy weather. Dogs. And a laptop.

The past week and a half I have been down in the Houston area…I was so excited to head that way because typically this time of year it is in the mid-sixties to lower seventies. Ha! Not for me. This trip I managed to experience on of the only winter storms they’ve seen in ages. Rolling blackouts (which affected my hotel), ice, snow, freezing rain. It was a cold mess.

Thankfully, I managed to get out-of-town just before the worst hit and head out to my aunt and uncle’s house for a weekend visit. (That visit almost didn’t happen due to frozen pipes at their well pump – no water.) It ended up being a fabulous time! Friday we hunkered down and spent most of the day reading and hanging out due to some snow and freezing rain. But Saturday and Sunday ended up being gorgeous, sunny, and warm. We did some shopping (mostly window) in a couple small towns, ate fabulous homemade meals, and had fun talking and watching music concerts on DVD. I also got some good snuggle time in with my furry doggy cousins.

The rest of the trip was unremarkable (more work) and I finally got back home Tuesday evening.

Yesterday I got the Mockingbird back (my laptop). Good as new – aside from adjusting some of the power-save settings, I haven’t found anything amiss or out-of-place. *whew* Now, assuming I don’t have any identity theft issues from someone there stealing my personal info (I don’t actually think that will be a problem, but it does cross one’s mind when they require your log-in password to do a hardware repair), things should be good to go.

Neil will be home this weekend which makes me happy – in an unfortunate, last-minute request, he was sent out to Seattle for work this past Monday. Even worse, he has to fly back out there again next Monday for a different conference. I will be glad when he’s back home…it is tough enough when just one of us is traveling. Of course, as soon as he is back from that trip (and I return from Dallas that week), my dad is coming to visit for several days…then I have another trip to Dallas…then Neil has some event in Georgia that following weekend…and the week after that he and I are headed to Florida for vacation (a sort of bittersweet vacation since it should have been my big race). March is going to seem so slow and boring after February.

After I am back from FL, I also need to get started on some serious yard-work. I still haven’t gotten the raised garden beds built. I need to do some shrub pruning. And I need to think about maybe planting some flowers this year. Thankfully my mom will be out to visit in May and can help me decide what to use for edging around all the planting beds and also make a final decision on whether or not to use red rock as ground cover in them. I am leaning toward ‘yes’ due to the easy maintenance once it is all down.

For now, I should quit rambling and go get some work done. It is that time…reports, reports, reports (in addition to our regular review duties).

4 thoughts on “Family. Crazy weather. Dogs. And a laptop.

  1. Although your trip with Neil will be bittersweet at least you’ll get to cheer on some friends (I’m jealous I can’t meet you and Holly!). You’ll still get to experience the race, just from a different point of view. πŸ™‚

    I always chuckle when my “southern” friends talk about yard work this time of year. It’ll be months before I even see my yard again. πŸ˜‰

    Will you be planning a trip in early summer to go and meet your new niece?

    • Maybe you will have to plan a vacation of your own when I am back up and ready to run in a race somewhere. πŸ™‚ Heck, maybe we can get Andrew to run too. LOL

      Yeah, I can’t imagine living up in the mid-west…this winter has been way too cold for me and it is nothing like what you all deal with!

      I will be heading home to meet the baby girl – Mila is the name they seem mostly settled on, middle name Jane after my mom – the last week in June through the 4th of July. She’ll be a week or two old at that point. My sister will most likely have another c-section so it will be good timing where she will be home and feeling better but can still use the extra help around the house. I can’t wait!

      I imagine both your parents will be wanting to be around in June for you all there? πŸ™‚

  2. I’m a little sad about yur big race too, but..no problem. Wendy and I know how to have some fun! I’m horribly nervous as I realize that the whole race is like, less than 3 weeks away now.
    Once we get you going again, I think you can pick a race to do and I’ll plan on it!

    • For sure! I will try to pick somewhere not too crowded and scenic… πŸ™‚ Looking forward to it. I walked a bit today and it was nice. Didn’t take the Garmin though and it was more of a meandering walk than a real work-out, but it felt good to get out in the sun and fresh air! Tomorrow the Garmin is coming along.

Leave a Reply

