A little less deep, a little less dark…

I finally booked my airline ticket to go home at the end of June. Thankfully, I had enough miles to cover the entire thing! That is such a huge relief, I can’t begin to express how much better I feel already. And it is nice to also know I get some benefit from being away from home all the time for work.

I am so excited! Giddy, actually. I can’t wait to meet my new niece, see my sister, and re-meet my nephew (who is now, by all reports, a little man!). It will also be good to see the rest of the family. I miss my sister terribly and hate that I am missing out on so much by living all the way across the country. If I could just figure out how to get them to move farther this way…

My mom was just out here for a visit the week following Mother’s Day. In fact, she arrived the morning of Mother’s Day, so we got to celebrate together. It was a great week – we potted up some plants for the patio, filled bird feeders, and just hung out and talked and drank. A lot. LOL!

Summer has pounced upon us. This past week temperatures jumped up into the 90’s and have stayed up there. Hot, humid, and little to no rain, though that part may change going into tomorrow. Ugh. The heat I don’t mind so much, but I really struggle with the humidity part.

Tonight we head back out to the US National Whitewater Center for their weekly River Jam event . Leadville Social Club is playing tonight – our friend Bill plays bass for them. I am really looking forward to it. We went while my mom was here to check it out and had a great time (at least I did), though, I forget who was playing. There were tons of dogs there as well, so tonight we are going to take Sadie along to join in the festivities! I am sort of bummed that Moo is so unpredictable around other dogs (and people) because I would really love to take her along, too. Maybe someday.

That is about all that is happening here these days. Today I worked from home conducting meetings by phone…my least favorite thing to do, but sometimes it is unavoidable. And at least I didn’t have to travel to do it!

I hope everyone has a safe and fun Memorial Day weekend!

Leave a Reply

