21 Day Fix: Lessons Learned from a Beginner

I’ve joined a new 21 Day Fix challenge group that starts tomorrow (the “official” 21 days starts on Monday, Oct 5th with four days to prep). If you’re interested, let me know and I’ll connect you with one of the coaches leading the challenge!

With that, I thought I’d put together some lessons learned and lessons remembered from times past (when I was much more fit) that I would have liked to have known going into my first try with this program:

  • You CAN do this! I am a 110% bonnafied couch potato. Even when I’m fit I’d rather sit and read a book or lounge on the patio with a beer than do pretty much anything. Especially *gasp* workout. That said, I am LOVING this program and actually look forward to my daily sweat sessions. And you will be amazed at how quickly you progress. However, also be patient. You will progress quickly, but it may not be in areas you expect or can see. That’s OK! Progress is progress and you are building the foundation for those visible, tangible changes.
  • Is is absolutely OK to modify! I modified the heck out of the modifications my first go around and still do for some of the moves even five weeks in. However, other moves I can now not only do “properly” but with the heavy weights! (I use 3, 5, and 10 lb weights…I strongly recommend getting a set of 8lb to bridge the 5 to 10 gap if you’re able.)
  • Stay hydrated! And I mean follow the eating plan which includes water intake. It may not seem like it matters, but it does. You’ll see what I mean on those days where it just doesn’t happen that you get in all that water. Also, following the eating plan is NOT a “diet”. It is a new view on balanced meals and portion control using real, unprocessed foods. You can use this “plan” forever. My goal is to eventually find a happy balance of including more cheese and beer in my weeks, but that’s after I see more progress toward my current weight-loss goals. I strongly recommend planning each week out over the weekend (or whenever your non-work/free days are). I only cook for one so it is a little easier to plan on the fly and even with that, I still plan on Saturday and shop on Sunday.

All that said, I’d also like to throw in some “technical” pointers:

  • Don’t grip the weights too tight. While obviously you want a firm grip, of you find yourself in a death-grip on them you will wear yourself out fast and potentially put a lot of unnecessary strain on your hands, wrists, and forearms. I learned this from a past personal trainer and “re-learned” it my first week of the 21DF program. Heh.
  • Do NOT let your knees go past your toes when doing lunges or squats. Autumn will mention this during some of the workouts, but I think it’s important to note this ahead of time. Hyperextending your knees puts undue strain on them and can quickly lead to injury.
  • Keep a tiny bend in your knees and elbows (don’t “lock” your joints). Autumn also mentions this at some point in one or two of the sessions, but I think it is better to know up front. Not only does locking your joints run the risk of injury, you also aren’t fully engaging all the muscles and thus aren’t getting the most of your move. Along this same line, control your moves. Don’t swing or kick out, but make your moves purposeful. This also increases the benefits of the move and reduces injury risk.
  • Above all else, listen to your body! There is “holy moly I’m sore because I haven’t used these muscles in over a decade” and there’s “oh wow that ankle REALLY hurts and looks a little swollen”. If you have former (or current) injuries, take care of them. I currently do the Total Body Fix twice a week, substituting it for the Cardio Fix. I do this because the Cardio Fix simply has too many high plank moves that I can’t do due to a former wrist injury (I also have to do alternate exercises during the push-ups on the Upper Fix day). They key here, though, is to keep moving. Find a move or workout that is (somewhat) similar and keep going! (Some high plank moves I can modify and do from my forearms.)
  • Stretch!!! Sore muscles like to be moved…gently. My advice here (in addition to my friends The Hot Bath, Ice, and Advil) is two-fold: first, use the cooldown moves from the end of each of the big workouts either in the morning or in the evening each day (or both!). Stretching is your friend for keeping things loose and also general limberness. Second, keep moving throughout the day. Try not to sit too long at any given time if at all possible. As an example from a bonnafied couch potato – I’m stuck at a desk on conference calls 8-10 hours per day, so I try to use my speaker phone so I can stand and/or walk around a bit and it makes a world of difference.

There you have it. Everything I would have like to have known or be reminded of prior to starting my first round of 21 Day Fix. My last bit of advice would be to spend a little time to watch the workouts without participating. So much easier than trying to figure out what’s coming next the first time through.

I hope I can get some folks interested. I’ve never been one to join the “trendy” workouts or the newest and latest “diets”, and was incredibly skeptical of this until I heard how successful folks who I know and trust have been with it. I decided to give it a shot and it is one of the best things I’ve ever done for myself. I truly believe you won’t be sorry if you also give it a whirl!

Leave a Reply

